405 record(s)
Type of resources
Available actions
Contact for the resource
Provided by
Representation types
Update frequencies
From 1 - 10 / 405
  • A federal electoral district is an area represented by a member of the House of Commons. The Federal Electoral Districts (FED) dataset is a digital representation of the 338 electoral districts proclaimed by the Representation Order of 2013. This dataset is an update of the 2013 Federal Electoral Districts (FED) 2013.

  • Here is a selection of web services displaying the geographic boundaries of the most common administrative and statistical areas published by Statistics Canada. Administrative areas are defined, with a few exceptions, by federal and provincial statutes and are adopted by Statistics Canada to support the collection and dissemination of data. Administrative areas supported by Statistics Canada include: Province and territory (PR) Federal electoral district (FED) Census division (CD) Census subdivision (CSD) Designated place (DPL) Statistical areas are defined by Statistics Canada to support the dissemination of data. They are created according to a set of rules based on geographic attributes and one or more characteristics of the resident population. Some statistical areas maintained by Statistics Canada include: Census agricultural region (CAR) Economic region (ER) Census consolidated subdivision (CSS) Census metropolitan area and census agglomeration (CMA/CA) Census tract (CT) Aggregate Dissemination Areas (ADA) Dissemination area (DA) Dissemination block (DB) To have a better understanding of the relationships between these areas, refer to the "Hierarchy of standard geographic areas for dissemination" diagram in the Data Resources below. NOTE: Services may not all be listed in the Related Products section below as they are added individually only once available for publication.

  • The digital Advance Polling District boundary files provided are made available from Elections Canada. The data contains the digital federal electoral districts under the Representation Order of 2013.

  • The digital Polling Division boundary files provided are made available from Elections Canada. The data contains the digital federal electoral districts under the Representation Order of 2013.

  • The Canadian major and minor crop field trial regions were developed following extensive stakeholder consultation and have been harmonized between the Pest Management Regulatory Agency (PMRA) and the Environmental Protection Agency of the USA. The identified regions are used for experimental studies in support of residue chemistry data requirements for the registration of new pesticide uses. The regions are based on soil type and climate and do not correspond to plant hardiness zones.

  • Group of neighbouring municipalities joined together for the purposes of regional planning and managing common services (such as police or ambulance services). These groupings are established under laws in effect in certain provinces of Canada. Census division (CD) is the general term for provincially legislated areas (such as county, municipalité régionale de comté and regional district) or their equivalents. In other provinces and the territories where laws do not provide for such areas, Statistics Canada defines equivalent areas for statistical reporting purposes in cooperation with these provinces and territories. Census divisions are intermediate geographic areas between the province/territory level and the municipality (census subdivision). Census divisions (CD) have been established in provincial law to facilitate regional planning, as well as the provision of services that can be more effectively delivered on a scale larger than a municipality. In Newfoundland and Labrador, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta, Yukon, Northwest Territories and Nunavut, provincial or territorial law does not provide for these administrative geographic areas. Therefore, Statistics Canada, in cooperation with these provinces and territories, has created equivalent areas called CDs for the purpose of disseminating statistical data. In Yukon, the CD is equivalent to the entire territory. Next to provinces and territories, census divisions (CD) are the most stable administrative geographic areas, and are therefore often used in longitudinal analysis.

  • FADM BCTS AREA SP is a BC Timbers Sales Business Area - an administrative area established by the Ministry (The Forest Act), and establishes the BC Timber Sales Program management Unit

  • Rent calculation for the use of Crown land for utilities purposes is based on zonal land values. There are currently 7 zones covering the province. The dataset outlines the boundaries for these zones.

  • Boundaries (polygons) of areas designated as community watershed by government - that are all or part of the drainage area that is upslope of the lowest point from which water is diverted for human consumption by a licensed waterworks, if satisfied that, to protect the water that is diverted for human consumption, the area requires special management that is not otherwise provided for under this regulation or other enactment: to conserve the quality, quantity and timing of water flow; or to prevent cumulative hydrological effects that would have a material adverse effect on the water . Supercedes the '(DEPRECATED) BC Community Watersheds' dataset BC_COMMUNITY_WATERSHEDS

  • The Fibre Recovery Zones (FRZ) define areas where increased waste rates may apply to avoidable waste left on a cutting authority as detailed in the Provincial Logging Residue and Waste Measurement Procedure Manual. The boundaries have been approved by the Director of the Forest Tenures Branch, Ministry of Forests, Lands, Natural Resource Operations and Rural Development. Current extent of the data is for the Coast Fibre Recovery Zones only.